Governance & Regulatory

Stampede Drilling is led by our management team and governed by its board of directors. We believe in adhering to the highest standards of ethical decision-making and adopting policies that strengthen our focus on corporate governance. By implementing key values in all levels of the Company, we strive to gain shareholder trust and thereby increase shareholder value.

The Governance Committee mandate among other duties and responsibilities: monitoring the effectiveness of the system of governance within the company; assessing the effectiveness of the Board of Directors, committees of the Board, and the contributions of individual members; and identifying, recommending, orienting and educating new directors. The Governance Committee is comprised of independent directors.

SDI Financial Statements, Management’s Discussion & Analysis, and Governance documents are filed with the Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) and are available on SEDAR at


The Stampede Drilling Inc. Board of Directors is comprised of five members. Their mandate includes: the approval and monitoring of the strategic business and financial plans of the company; the supervision of performance and succession planning of senior officers; the assessment of principal risk factors relating to the business; and to monitor and oversee the integrity of financial reporting and disclosure.

Elson McDougald, Chairman

Mr. McDougald brings over 50 years of experience in the oil and gas services business. He is currently an independent businessman and was the Executive Chairman of CanElson Drilling Inc. (TSX) until it was acquired on August 10, 2015 by Trinidad Drilling Ltd. (TSX), after which he served as a Director until he resigned on March 1, 2016. Mr. McDougald was Chief Executive Officer of CanElson from December 2008 to December 2010 and Chairman of Savanna Energy Services Corp. (TSX) from August 2006 to May 2008. He was the founding Chairman, President and CEO of Western Lakota Energy Services Inc. (formerly TSX) from 2001 to 2006 and the founding Chairman and CEO of Tetonka Drilling Inc. (formerly TSX), 1997 to 2000. Prior thereto, he was founder, Chairman, President and CEO of Laredo Drilling Ltd., and is a past director or Chairman of Phoenix Technology Income Fund (formerly TSX), the Alberta Treasury Branch, Alberta Petroleum Equipment Company Ltd., Lakeside Farm Industries Ltd. and Vencap Equities Alberta.

Thane Russell, Director

Mr. Russell has almost 30 years of engineering experience in the petroleum industry, primarily in production operations, drilling and completions, and well optimization. Mr. Russell has a particular interest in the innovation and commercialization of completion tools. Mr. Russell was one of the founders of Stellarton Energy Limited, which was sold to Tom Brown Resources of Denver in 2000 with its wholly owned subsidiary, Secure Oil Tools, being sold to Schlumberger in 1999. In 2000, Mr. Russell founded Absolute Energy Limited and is currently the Chairman and Vice President Absolute Completion Technologies Ltd., which was founded in 2002. Mr. Russell also has field experience with a number of companies including Texaco, Imperial Oil and Canadian Hunter. Mr. Russell received a Bachelor of Engineering degree from the Thayer School of Engineering at Dartmouth College and has his designation as a Professional Engineer.

Diane Brickner, Director

Mrs. Brickner has her Chartered Insurance Professional designation from the Insurance Institute and her ICD.D from the Institute of Corporate Directors. Mrs. Brickner is currently a corporate director at Peace Hills Insurance (since 1990), The Alberta Lawyers Indemnity Association (since 2016), and the Alberta Treasury Branch (since 2019). Mrs. Brickner has served on several publicly traded companies including CanElson Drilling Inc. in 2014, as well as various privately owned and not for profit boards. Mrs. Brickner joined Peace Hills Insurance in 1981 and became the CEO in 1990, growing the company the company from 3 employees to over 200. Over the course of her career, she successfully oversaw the expansion of Peace Hills Insurance to all Provinces and Territories west of Ontario. Mrs. Brickner has been recognized by several organizations including the Senate (150th Anniversary medal), the Edmonton YWCA (Women of Distinction in Business) and the Alberta Venture (Person of the Year 2013).

Terrance J. Owen, Director

Mr. Owen has been the Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer of Hammerstone Corporation since February 2009. From June 1994 to January 2008, Mr. Owen held various executive positions with the Trimac group of companies, including serving as President and Chief Executive Officer of Trimac Transportation Services L.P. from February 2005 to January 2008. Mr. Owen was a partner with the law firm Macleod Dixon LLP (now Norton Rose Fulbright Canada LLP), practicing in the corporate/securities law area from July 1985 to May 1994. Past public company directorships of Mr. Owen include: Trimac Transportation Services, Boom Capital Corporation, Ranchero Resources Ltd.  and lntermap Technologies Corporation. Mr. Owen also acted as counsel to Macleod Dixon LLP and was a member of the Strategic Advisory Committee of that firm prior to its merger with Norton Rose in 2011. Mr. Owen was also Corporate Secretary and legal counsel for Ryan Energy Technologies Inc. (formerly TSX) in its formative years.

Murray Hinz, Director

Mr. Hinz is a Chartered Accountant with over 25 years of experience as a senior executive and providing business financial advisory services. Mr. Hinz is currently the Sr VP Finance & Administration of Parvus Therapeutics Inc. Before joining Parvus, Mr. Hinz was CanElson Drilling Inc’s first Chief Financial Officer prior to becoming an Advisor to their Senior Executive team, providing finance, business development, risk management and corporate governance support. Mr. Hinz helped grow CanElson organically and through acquisitions from 1 to over 1,000 employees providing contract drilling rig services to customers in Canada, United States and Mexico. Mr. Hinz’s career also includes diverse industry financial advisory experience working with PricewaterhouseCoopers in Canada and Deloitte in the Cayman Islands providing a wide variety of services including valuation, litigation support, forensic, restructuring and liquidation in Canada, United States, South America, Caribbean and the United Kingdom. In addition, he worked as a consultant providing financial management, business leadership and corporate strategy services to both private and public companies from the startup phase to larger organizations.

Lyle Whitmarsh, President, Chief Executive Officer and Director

Mr. Whitmarsh has 35 years of energy industry experience. Mr. Whitmarsh previously held the position of President with Trinidad Drilling from 2002 to 2008, and Chief Executive Officer and a member of the Trinidad board of directors until March 2017. Mr. Whitmarsh has extensive practical hands-on experience, starting as a rig floor hand in the early 1980s and evolving through various operational positions, advancing into executive roles that included diversifying into manufacturing, well servicing and international operations. Recently, Mr. Whitmarsh served as an intermediary board member in the Total Energy and Savanna Energy Services merger, then acted as President of Savanna Energy Services until July 2017. Mr. Whitmarsh has served in various capacities with the Canadian Association of Oilwell Drilling Contractors (CAODC) during 2005 to 2017, in Calgary, Alberta.